Modest Mouse – Florida

members of modest mouse

Modest Mouse was formed in 1993 in Issaqua, Washington by Singer/Guitarist/Vocalist Isaak Brock, bassist Eric Judy, and drummer Jeremiah Green. As one can see from this picture, their lineup has doubled over the last 10+ years, as they experiment with new sounds. Most notably, Johnny Marr of The Smith joined the band in 2006.

Modest Mouse attributes its name partially to the Virginia Woolf story ‘Mark on the Wall’ which reads “I wish I could hit upon a pleasant track of thought, a track indirectly reflecting credit upon myself, for those are the pleasantest thoughts, and very frequent even in the minds of modest mouse-coloured people, who believe genuinely that they dislike to hear their own praises.”

This story is a lot more compelling than that of Motley Crue, who put those two words together because they thought it sounded cool, and who added accents on the letters because they thought it looked cool.

This jam Florida comes from their latest album We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank, recorded in 2006 with their current lineup.

Similar Jams: The Sunshine Underground – Put Your In Your Place

Gentler, Softer Sound: Neutral Milk Hotel – King of Carrot Flowers

One Comment

  1. Mike West says:

    Wow! I never knew about the Virginia Woolf connection. I absolutely adore Modest Mouse.

Leave a Reply